FINALLY the week is over.  Today was actually pretty good…for the most part.  I didn’t have to go to work until 1:30, so I slept in a little later (7:15) and then headed off to sign up for a general delivery mailbox (just so you know, a prerequisite for postmaster must be “complete asshole”) and hiked for a bit.  I am so excited that my boyfriend will be visiting me for a weekend in June!!!!!!!  Definitely the highlight of my day.  After figuring out where he will be staying, I decided to see if I could find the place.  It was slightly more difficult then I thought, but still pretty easy.  After all, it may be Alaska, but it’s not hard to get lost in Healy.  I wound up talking to the woman who runs the place, who when I described who I was checking the place out for, she cried “oh, you’re the girlfriend, I heard about you!”…….most interesting and fun people 🙂 

Anyways, by that point it was abot 90 degrees out and I was going to be late for work, so I rushed back to my humble abode, ate, and rushed to work, just in time to fill two propane tanks.  It was incredibly busy, probably because its Friday, but also because it’s memorial day weekend.  I talked to my boss about getting time off or worked out for the weekend that my boyfriend is here and I don’t think I’ll have any problems.  I also asked him if he knew anyone that had a bike I could borrow and he said I could use his, I just have to see if I can replace the front tire that’s blown.  I’m going to try and check it out tomorrow and see if it’s doable.  My packages also came today (which was a bunch of fun to carry all the way back to base camp – definitely could have used a bike). 

More fires have broken out and the rest of the afternoon was rather smokey.  I was working the entire evening with this new guy who, ‘scuse my french, is an idiot.  Then, right as my shift was ending and I was trying to tally up my days cash, I couldn’t figure out this computer glitch so I wound up spending ten extra minutes just trying to close out my register.  On a positive note ( I guess) I definitely proved to know one in particular (boss wasn’t around of course) that I’m good under pressure and in a jam.  At one point, I was on the phone, ringing up a customer, AND trying to make camping arrangements while the idiot asked me how to ring up a propane tank.  Yup, busy and exhausting. 

As I was leaving, I got a nice surpise though – all the smoke and fire today made the sun turn bright red, with gorgeous clouds on my walk home.  It was really cool.

So, I finally have a weekend.  Tomorrow, I plan on exploring a few more roads in Healy that I have been meaning to check out, look in on the bike situation, and most importantly, start planning fun activities for when my boyfriend visits.  It should prove (hopefully) to be a nice day and I should have things to write home about so to speak.  Here’s hoping the weather holds out for a little bit longer.  Cheers and g’nite all!

