Okay, big news – everyone ready?  Here goes…..I did not do a single piece of homework this weekend.  BOOYA!!! (If anyone’s wondering, yes that is a Kim Possible quote and I don’t care because that show rocks).  Yes, so anyways, I am a straight A, never slouch off once, homework fool.  I don’t mean to say that I love it, just that my parents did way too good a job in raising me to be a good person…..just saying.  Here is my extended weekend in a nutshell: 

Friday:

Okay, Friday I did a lot of homework because I was trying to get it all squared away.  BUT, Friday night was reserved for movie night with friends!  We ate a new ringer of a mexican dish my sister made (we all agreed it was a keeper) and someone brought all the fixings for ice cream sundays for dessert!  We watched What’s Up Doc? first.  If you haven’t seen this film, please, do the world a favor and I am pretty sure it will be at the top of your favorite DVD’s stack – it’s definitely one of mine!  I say it’s probably one of Barbra Streisand‘s best films.  Next, we watched Hoodwinked, also one of my all time fav’s.  If you haven’t noticed, there is a pattern here 🙂  Especially with animated films.  I enjoy just about nothing more than watching Finding Nemo, Flushed Away, Robots, Monsters VS Aliens, all of the Ice Age films, Tarzan is one of my all time favorite comfort movies, and so many more.  There have only been a few that either creeped me out or just were actually aimed at five year olds instead of being chock full of adult humor (it’s the parents taking the kids to the movies and having to sit through it right?  Someone was thinking really well when they decided they should throw in some things to entertain the adults as well). 

Last, but certainly not least, we watched The Italian Job.  It’s one of my dad’s favorite movies and my sister and I see nothing wrong with watching Jason Statham expertly manuever a mini cooper 🙂  

Saturday: 

Finally, had a day where I could sleep a little later, especially after my field trip on Wednesday.  Oh yeah, speaking of which, I had a field trip for my Graphic Communications class to the Queen City Printers Inc. in Burlington.  It was really cool but……two and a half hours in a van at 7 am, half an hour tour of the press factory, and another two and a half hours back……you do the math.  Either way, it was still a nice trip.  However, I haven’t had a good nights sleep since.  SO, then I went outside  and helped my dad chop and stack about a cord and a half of wood.  It was something we definitely needed to do, but boy it hurts!  As soon as we finished, I did something spur of the moment – which is rare for me.  I went down to Cone’s Point general store and bought myself a hunting license for deer season.  Open season starts this coming weekend, so we’ll see.  I haven’t been hunting since I was fifteen, so I know I am a bit rusty.  Usually, school really interferes with any chance at taking time off to get up at the crack of dawn and sit out in the woods to freeze your butt off, but I decided that I would rather be ready to go if I actually got an opportunity.  Hopefully I will be sighting in my hunting rifle with a friend’s help this Friday at his shooting range!  Fingers crossed….

Next, my dad headed off to work and my sister and I BAKED A PUMPKIN!!!  We stuffed it (and I mean stuffed it) with rice, beef, homegrown carrots and squash, and corn and shoved it in the oven for about three hours.  It. was. amazing!  I think it’s a keeper.  We also watched Jaws….because we felt like it.  Okay, it was certainly more annoying than I remember (the typical horror movie commentary: “don’t open the door!  Why don’t you have a gun? and why the hell didn’t you bring a bigger boat!?!?”), BUT it also has a lot of great quotes that I forgot about.  The boat one is pretty well known, but I think my favorite part is when the mother sees a picture of a shark eating a boat  and starts screaming at her son to get off the boat and back in doors…priceless 🙂 

I also had to bring an air tank into the college to help a student with a flat tire for my dad……he was lucky I wasn’t in my PJ’s yet. 

Sunday:  Another latish morning…..except we forgot about changing the clocks, so I actually managed to be bright eyed and bushy-tailed by 9 am.  Not bad.  Next, off to go food shopping.  After that, we came home, got changed, and headed out to dinner with friends at the Lakehouse Pub and Grille in Bomoseen.  We were all a little exhausted, but it was still fun!  I had some New England Clam Chowder that was pretty good and the roast duck special…..not as good, especially if I had paid full price for it (Sunday’s entrees are half-price).  Otherwise, it was just nice to be out with friends.

Monday: 

Yeah……I’ve decided something – Monday’s are ironic.  No really, I can do nothing but laugh at the irony that every Monday since the beginning of this semester something has happened to make my day….well, just a little less pleasant.  Today, for instance, I awoke at 6:30 instead of 7:30 to the sound of….well, to be honest it sounded like a really big mouse (or rat) walking around on bubble wrap.  I tried to wake up a bit more as I grabbed my flashlight and headed into the construction zone that’s known as the upstairs bathroom (directly at the foot of my bed).  Low and behold, I see something large moving around on top of the temporary insolation that’s stapled to the ceiling.  I hear a “mmeeeoowww!!” right before the cat comes crashing down, insolation with it.  After throwing the cat back outside, I grabbed a milk carton and a staple gun, stapled the insolation back to the roof, took a freezing cold shower (yeah, my timing was so unfortunate that neither my sister or I had a warm shower because we took one at the same time in different bathrooms), and then really started my day.  Now, if you live anywhere near Vermont while reading this, you’ll understand that the day didn’t really improve.  Evidence, you ask?  Verified:

Vermont means.....never having a snow day because....well, it snows too much for that.

Okay, so that was taken at 3 pm and isn’t the best example of today, as it has continued to snow right up til…well, I think it’s still going.  We lost power at home for a few hours, my car had about an inch of ice on it all day, and I had to trudge across campus about four times while my face was pelted with ice bullets (I lost my winter hat on Friday, has anyone seen it on campus or picked it up?  It’s gray plaid and soft with a small stiff brim – I’d really appreciate getting it back if anyone has it!!!). 

On a much brighter note, I register for classes tomorrow morning….oh, no wait – that wasn’t the brighter note.  Oh well, the real bright spot is that my morning class is cancelled and I am taking off from workstudy, so I get to stay home on my Tuesday!!!  YAY!!!  Well, I’ve got to have something 🙂  Here, watch this short video clip from Hoodwinked to make your day – be warned though, it will be stuck in your head for the rest of the evening and it contains SPOILERS (so if you plan on seeing this movie later because of my awesome recommendation, don’t watch it)!

