Nothing all together exciting happened this past weekend….except that it was my sister’s birthday and my last weekend of freedom!!!  Yeah, I guess that is pretty exciting 🙂  Unfortunately, my sister had to work on her birthday, but we made her gift giving into a treasure hunt the next day and had swedish pancakes for breakfast.  Swedish pancakes are really simple and like crepes, with lots of butter, maple syrup (homemade of course), and jelly (also homemade).  We also took a nice drive to Whitehall again, bought some amazing lunch meats at the Green Mountain Exchange and road around some of the back roads for a while.  It was just nice to relax and hang out together. 

I take this time to express my complete and utter lack of control over the next three months.  There definitely won’t be as many blog posts and there will be times when I won’t write at all, but I’m going to try to keep this up.  This blog was initially only for keeping track of my summer, but I have grown to love writing it so much that I am hoping I can keep up with it even during my busy semesters.  Here’s hopin’.

This Monday was about survival!  *Whew* yes, I’ve made it through my first day of my senior year in college.  Yeah, I know, the first week is really the test, but I was just plain excited that I managed to avoid tripping, crashing on my bike, saying anything too stupid, or being late for any of my appointments.  For me, that’s a really good day.  It was nice to be back and see all the people I knew, some I haven’t seen in ages.  I really do feel like a senior this year – meaning I feel old, way too wise to the good and bad of GMC, and a little fearful of the big, scary, world waiting to eat me when I’ve finished my bachelor’s education.  Yep, that about sums it up.  Besides that, I feel as though I will never escape feeling like a freshman.  As new students arrive each semester, I find myself in classes where I don’t know anyone and there are still professors on this small campus that I don’t know yet, so there are still moments of complete fear of a new situation. 

Sometimes that bubble of comfort doesn’t extend as far as you might think.

Either way, I’m trying (I’m a pessimist, what can I say – trying is as good as it gets folks) to be more positive this semester.  It’s among my last and I know that the joys of college will never come again – of course, I still have to figure out what those are before I graduate….for some reason all I’ve found is the boredom of classes and more things to dislike about college.  But, as I said, I’m trying to enjoy myself a bit more, step back and enjoy the scenery sort-to-speak.  That oughta work, right?

