So, Friday was the big day – well, it was and it wasn’t.  It was my birthday, but I can’t say it was really exciting.  On the other hand, a birthday doesn’t necessarily have to be exciting, if it’s a day being spent with people worth doing absolutely nothing with 😉 

We dug out the ol’ waffle maker and made some blueberry waffles for breakfast, topped off with our own home-made maple syrup and peaches from our own tree (there are literally hundreds just ripening – incredibly rewarding and delicious!).  Next, I got to open my presents! 

My sister is one of those people who would rather buy someone else presents then receive them – she loves shopping for other people and always enjoys getting creative (I awoke to a hand-made ‘happy birthday’ banner above my bed – complete with glitter glue, stamps, and stickers). 

My family bought me an awesome selection of movies that should keep me  busy for a while:

Treasure Planet (one of my favorites that I now finally have on DVD)

Planet 51 (totally awesome!)

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs (good, but slightly horrifying in parts…….man-turned-chicken..*shudders*)

Transporter 3 (Two words: JASON STATHEM!!!…..’nuff said)

The Mummy #3 (surprisingly good, even if they did completely ruin it by not having Rachel Weisz in it….*sob*)

The Informant (I’ll let you know….)

and The Spiderwick Chronicles (really not a great movie….could have been done much better)

All in all, I’m pretty happy:)  PLUS, two awesome new pairs of earrings, a home-made book from  my sister, and one of the greatest gifts of all:

A local student had her senior art show, which included a picture she had taken of a recently butchered sheep on the college farm.  I had seen it and loved it, not expecting that my dad would buy it for me and be able to keep it a secret from me for three months!  I know it sounds weird (what can I say), but to me it’s beautiful, as well as being a metaphor for farming and the loss of innocence.  In the photo there is a child staring at the hanging meat, with a look of horror and fascination on her face.  I like it because I feel that it represents a few different things about farming: one, there are terrible aspects of the farmer’s life that cannot be avoided.  Two, you learn to grow up at a young age, because your parents fail to hide you behind the comforts society provides.  Death happens, and when you are a part of it and experience close at hand, it changes your perspective on life – there’s no more believing that meat comes from the supermarket or that hard work is for those other people.  Anyways, I could go on and on, but it’s my picture to ponder now, you’ll just have to find your own 🙂

I say 19 going on 90 for my blog post title because I certainly don’t feel that I am any spring chicken – something else farming does to you (not to mention the stress of school).  I also feel that sometimes I know too much for my own good – not that I will ever know as much as I think I do, but that I still know just enough to care too little about the things I should be enjoying at the age of nineteen.  On the other hand, I have so much to be thankful for and such great experiences that other kids my age will never get to be a part of.  So I guess I’m just fine the way I am, right?

