Arriving safe and sound in Maryland on Thursday, we piled out of our nicely air-conditioned vehicle only to be bombarded by incredible heat.  The thermometer read 98 degrees and for once we were glad to have the AC on full blast.  We all settled in, exchanged hugs, and sat down to a dinner of pulled pork sandwiches. 

The next morning we woke up early, ate breakfast, and headed out to Byler’s for a shopping spree.  Byler’s is an awesome store run by the Amish and has just about everything and anything you could ask for under its roof.  From prepackaged and bulk spices/cooking ingredients to homemade ice cream and woodwork, it’s definitely a must see every time we come down to visit family.  My sister goes crazy in the cooking section and I can’t resist the home made chocolate ice cream (it’s all really cheap too!). 

After that we had lunch (I am eating way too much on this trip) and then my sister, cousin, and I went and saw Despicable Me in the local theatre.  I have to say, I had high hopes of it being another Hoodwinked or Monster Vs. Alien, but unfortunately found it not to be the case.  It was still cute and a fun afternoon out, but I don’t think I will be putting it on my wish list.  I got some more reading done before dinner and managed to type up some of my blog posts afterwards.

