Today was another full-blown work day at EQX!  I can’t believe how much I am able to accomplish there in just four hours…..I definitly can’t say I’m not getting my times worth at this internship!  Along with all the new experiences and talents I am beginning to acquire, the free CD’s and concerts aren’t too shabby either 😉

I feel as though my feet never touched the ground today – I was copying CD’s and adding them to their master computer, updating the website, posting events, writing up PSA’s, all kinds of awesome stuff.  It’s awesome to know that in a matter of three weeks I have been able to learn so much!  On that note, I asked Jeff if I could have a copy of the commercial I did on air for R.K Miles.  I have it in a crappy windows movie maker video with some pictures because wordpress won’t allow me to upload audio, but if you are interested in hearing me make a fool out of myself, by all means.

The rest of my day was spent feeding bugs and grubs to our Guinea Hen chicks and making rhubarb jam.  Canning is another aspect of my home life that I grew up with.  I can remember my mom forcing me to stir giant pots of jam for the farmers market in 80 degree heat for about an hour……yup, painful memories at times, but I wouldn’t trade them for the world.  Now, my sister and I try to keep up with our two rhubarb patches.  Strawberry rhubarb is my favorite, but strawberries are too expensive around here.  The rhubarb by itself is pretty good, as long as you add enough sugar 🙂  We’ve made about 22 jars so far this year and we will probably do at least another batch.  Please feel free to ask me via comment for the recipe if you like! 

Our garden is starting to take shape too.  We’ve got four different kinds of squash, two kinds of tomatoes, Lima beans, carrots, pumpkins, potatoes, and a small herb population on our porch!  All the rain and heavy storms has really given our garden a run for our money, but they seem to be a hardy bunch and most of them have made it through.  Now, we can only help them along and hope for the best.  We didn’t tend a garden last year and we missed it dearly. 

I never want to be stuck somewhere in my life that doesn’t allow me the opportunity to plant my own garden – after all, “To plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow.” And that’s what we all have to do – “believe that life is worth living, and your belief will help to create the fact.”  Gardens make this possible in the best kind of way: no matter how shitty your life may seem, if you’ve planted the seeds to soe for another day, it means your going get through it and that someday soon everything in your life will blossom.  Just a little “food” for thought……..

