Now some may say my weekend has been uneventful….on one hand I would disagree, as nothing in life is uneventful.  On the other hand……I would agree that it is way less eventful than usual……which I am absolutely loving 🙂   So here is my weekend in a nutshell so far:

Friday: 

Really didn’t do much, except read and get some house chores done.  However, I did head to the movies that night to see Killers – a highly recommended movie! 

I am not usually a fan of Ashton Kutcher, but I do love Katherine Heigl and for once, I was not disappointed with this recently a-typical plotline.  It was hysterical, witty, and only a little childish in its conclusion (of course, that’s only my opinion).  All in all, it was an enjoyable film and worth the eight bucks entirely.   

Saturday: 

Again, didn’t do much, except more reading.  I have so many books lined up this summer (mostly thanks to my cousin) and I have been eating them up like crazy.  Right now I am in the process of reading two very good books (yes, I’m one of those annoying people who reads two books at once…..when I have been deprived of great reading material for six months I get a little aggressive in my rehabilitation). 

The first book is called The Second Genesis: The Coming Control of Life by Albert Rosenfeld, written in 1969.  It was something I just picked up at a yard sale and it may be a little outdated, but this book is one of those accounts that is even more dead on now then it was when it was written.  Rosenfeld discusses exactly what the title implies: he argues that the coming medical breakthroughs are (or should be) forcing us to reexamine the ethical responsibilities we hold as humans.  It’s an incredibly interesting read, one that really opens your mind, even though it was written before many of the medial innovations were invented that we call common-place today.  

The second novel I’m currently reading is the Twilight Saga.  I know I’m a little late in the game, but I never really had an interest in it before (I still haven’t seen any of the movies and I’m not really one for being a movie groupie……for example, I only made it halfway through the Harry Potter series and have resigned myself to just seeing the movies when I get around to it).  However, my cousin who gave me a giant box of books for some light summer reading included all four of the twilight books so I thought I would give it a go.  Surprisingly, they are pretty good so far.     

Sunday:

Today was spent hacking up bits of trees that were still littering our lawn from that huge storm we had a few weeks back.  I pulled way too many muscles, found all reasons I needed to hate trees for a while, and now have a two arms full of cuts and bruises.  Ah, well….all in a day 😉  Next, we went car shopping, as we are on the hunt for a new family vehicle.  All of our current models barely made it into the decade, plus not-a-one has under 200,000 miles on it.  Hence, we are finally trying to buy a step up this time and find something that might last for a while. 

The coming week is looking just as busy and exciting as the last, which is good, but also exhausting.  But hey, life isn’t made to be easy or dull, so we best make the most of it, right?  Stay tuned….

