Yes, it’s that time of year – Poultney is having its annual Town-wide yard sale today!  It’s that one day a year where every town member pulls out a slew of their junk and tries to pawn it off on someone else – as they say, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. 

I am a firm believer that yard sales brings out the best and the worst in all of us.  The best because we are humbled by our complimentary need to have our own belongings welcomed into a new home, while at the same time we look for new things to replace the old.  There is a certain amount of comradery involved when sifting through the collections of someone elses livelihoods – we all want something, only to be rebuked by the knowledge that they are in the same position. 

On the other hand, sometimes yard sales can have the opposite effect.  Call me old-fashioned, but as times change some of the chivalry involved in the ritualistic act of weekend lawn shopping has died.  My parents being antique dealers, artists, and connoisseurs of just about anything metal, wood, funky and fantastic, I was raised on a firm and ever growing belief in the treasures of another’s possessions.  I spent my weekends at yard sales around the state, my

My little hometown of happy memories!

 parents never passing up an opportunity to make “one last stop” – we also never came away with our arms empty.  Yes, I’ll admit that for many a years, I hated being dragged out at the crack of dawn “so we won’t miss all the good stuff!”, but as I grew older I came to embrace and ultimately enjoy our little outings.  Now, I realize that as all things must lose their perfection once held in the eye of a youth, yard sales are not what it used to be.  Blame it on the economy, Ebay, or simply my own meandering misinterpretation, the world seems a little more devoid of those priceless finds and the enthusiasm for garage sale hunting trips is now a lackluster concern for the aged or out-of-towners looking for a little variety. 

Before I get too carried away though, I must emphasize that although things may be changing, Poultney still puts on a good show.  It is hard to break town traditions and almost impossible to do so in one of this size. 

Frankly, I often believe that it is the conjoined efforts of small-town communities that bring about the strongest sense of being and encouragement for change in the present and for the future, not the “global communities” we strive to implement today. 

So cheers Poultney – to another succesful year of putting smiles on the faces of those that understand the importance of passing on tradition.  Skol!

